top of page

The New Mexico Film Office Announces the Finalists of the 2018 NM Filmmakers Showcase

Today, New Mexico State Film Office Director Nick Maniatis announced the finalists of the 2018 New Mexico Filmmakers Showcase. The following finalists in the seven (7) categories are:

Comedy Category:

Canned Soup, Laura Gayarre-Acacio

Diva's Perfect Posse Ep. 1.1 Perfect Pumps, Christina Gopal

Dog Bachelor, Jamie Merideth

The Backroom, Albert Fry Jr.

The Love That Would Not Die 2, Devon Ludlow

Documentary Category:

How We See Them, Jesse Fisher

Nasario Remembers the Río Puerco, Shebana Coelho

Parade of Dreams, Gabe Gillette

The Mayors of Shiprock, Ramona Emeson

Wonderful Ed a Santa Fe Story, Mark Shepherd

Drama Category:

Agnosia, Christopher Horn

Chasing Sunset, Robert Posey

Pareidolia, Erick Castillo

Pieces of a Dream, Carolyn Smith

Undying, Dominique Mazire

Horror Category:

18 Minutes Of A Film That Refuses To Exist, Christian Lemons

The 7 Doors, Alex Gianopoulos

The Entrada, Mark Lewis

The Hitchhiker, Aaron Lopez

Music Video Category:

Medicine, Ted Bolton

Ruse Of Fools - Happy Song, Sherwin Lau

Memoryy - Not Over You, Shaun Hettinger

NM Roadtrip, Lizette Casas

Vanish. Abyss, Dusty Deen

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Category:

Apothecary's Cage, Josh Relic

Flux, James Perkins

Of Stars & Magic, Trevor Rogers

Saturn Return, Evan Curtis

Shift, Jac Roberts

Student Category:

Bruises, Kel Cruz

Casuist, LeRoy Grafe

Pure Democracy, Samuel Smith-Boyle

Shovel and Gore, Kristen Saiz

The Next Page, Addison Fulton

In addition to the above categories there will be awards for Best in Show, Wild Card and an Audience award.

"One of the great aspects of a healthy, vibrant film industry is the opportunities it creates for New Mexicans to tell their own stories." said Nick Maniatis, Director of the New Mexico State Film Office. "We received submissions from Roswell, Las Cruces, Lovington, Española... all over the state. The quality of all the submissions and the films that have made it to the finals are a great example of the high level of talent we have in communities across the state."

The winning films in each category will be announced at an Awards Ceremony and Networking Event on May 19, 2018 at 5:00 pm at the National Hispanic Cultural Center/Bank of American Theater in Albuquerque (1701 4th St SW, Albuquerque, NM 87102). The event will start with a networking hour where attendees can mingle. Food trucks will also be on hand for those who want to purchase food or beverage. The Awards Ceremony including a panel with last year's winners and the handing out of awards will begin at 6:30 pm.

Visit the New Mexico Film Office online at

tWitch Cover Story
bottom of page